Emergency? Call 999

For general enquiries

Contact Us

Latest Incidents

23rd June, 2022 - 8:24pm: Knightsdale Road, Weymouth - A crew from Weymouth station attended a c...Read more

23rd June, 2022 - 9:21pm: Limpley Stoke - Our crew from Trowbridge assisted Avon Fire & Resc...Read more

22nd June, 2022 - 3.01pm: At 3.01pm we received a call to a fire behind the Pavilion Theatre, We...Read more

22nd June, 2022 - 2.43pm: At 2.43pm we received a call to a fuel leak from a car outside the One...Read more

22nd June, 2022 - 2.41pm: At 2.41pm we received a call to alarms operating in a residential prop...Read more

22nd June, 2022 - 1.48pm: At 1.48pm we received a call to alarms activating in a residential pro...Read more

22nd June, 2022 - 1.46pm: At 1.46pm we received a call to alarms activating in a school in The S...Read more

22nd June, 2022 - 1.33pm: At 1.33pm we received a call to a cow stuck in the river near Beaconsf...Read more

22nd June, 2022 - 1.27pm: At 1.27pm we received a call to a wooden shed on fire in Clayford Aven...Read more

22nd June, 2022 - 1.24pm: At 1.24pm we received a call to alarms activating in a residential pro...Read more


Many of our on-call fire stations provide co-responding support to South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust (SWASFT).

A co-responder scheme is made up of groups of volunteers within the community where they live or work, who have been trained to attend emergency calls received by the Ambulance Service, providing basic life support until the arrival of the emergency ambulance. Fire co-responders come with the additional benefit of a blue light enabled response and the ability to administer analgesia.

The scheme is similar to that of Community First Responder Schemes utilised nationally, to ensure that trained responders attend life threatening emergencies within seven minutes.

The chances of survival following cardiac arrest are considerably improved if appropriate steps are taken to deal with the emergency, including:

Fire and Rescue Service co-responders are firefighters who, as a minimum, are trained and competent in basic life support and defibrillation, and have passed an appropriate first response course and a SWASFT responder familiarisation session.

Although stations are nominated to be part of the scheme, firefighters are not obliged to be co-responders; they volunteer and are paid separately for carrying out the function in addition to their main role.

Stations currently part of the scheme are Beaminster, Bradford on Avon, Cranborne, Cricklade, Gillingham, Ludgershall, Lyme Regis, Malmesbury, Mere, Ramsbury, Royal Wootton Bassett, Swanage and Tisbury.


results found.

Post Holders: