Dorset & Wiltshire Fire and Rescue Authority

Main purpose

The main purpose of the Authority is to oversee the policy and service delivery of the Dorset & Wiltshire Fire and Rescue Service. The Authority consists of elected members from each of the five constituent Authorities and collectively they ensure we support communities, local partners and comply with a range of statutory requirements and frameworks including:

- Fire and Rescue Services Act 2004
- Fire and Rescue National Framework for England
- The Fire and Rescue Services (Emergencies) (England) Order 2007)
- Civil Contingencies Act 2004
- Regulatory Reform (Fire Safety) Order 2005
- Health and Safety at Work Act 1974 and associated regulation
- Policing and Crime Act 2017

The Authority is the statutory body constituted in accordance with The Dorset & Wiltshire Fire and Rescue Authority (Combination Scheme) Order 2015 (Statutory Instrument No 435).

The Authority has agreed to establish five main committees:

- Policy and Resources Committee
- Local Performance and Scrutiny Committee (x4)
- Finance, Governance and Audit Committee
- Appointments and Disputes Committee
- Appeals Committee

Terms of Reference

The Fire Authority has delegated a number of its functions to committees and to senior officers but the following have not been delegated:

- (i) approval of the annual community safety plan (including the Integrated Risk Management Plan)
- (ii) approval of the annual budget and agreement as to the precept to give effect to the budget
- (iii) maintaining a comprehensive performance management system to ensure that the authority's objectives are being met
- (iv) Treasury management strategy and policies
- (v) approve and adopt a scheme of standing orders

The Dorset & Wiltshire Fire and Rescue Authority has appointed three chief officers (Chief Fire Officer, Monitoring Officer and Treasurer. Specific delegations have also been given by the Fire Authority to each of these officers.

Membership:

Number of Members – 30. Bournemouth Borough Council (4), Dorset County Council (8), Borough of Poole (3), Swindon Borough Council (5), Wiltshire Council (10)

Quorum: 10

Meetings: June (annual meeting), September, December, and February

Reporting arrangements N/A